What is the difference between a 1.57 and 1.59 lens?

Getting the best value for your money when it comes to eyeglasses, sunglasses, eye exams, and contact lenses.

Postby Blindman » Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:00 am

My prescription is -4 and -3.50 diopters with a cylindrical of -.50 on each. I plan on buying a plastic frame from zenni. Should I even bother upgrading to a 1.59 lens or is 1.57 and 1.59 barely noticeable in thickness?
Blindman

Postby george » Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:53 pm

I'm not an eye doctor, but I am pretty good at math. I'd say the difference is 0.02. :D

It's an interesting question and I'm guessing if I did a bit more searching around I could find more on the mathematical formulas behind lens thickness and lens material. The important factors I would think would be the lens thickness as well as the weight of the material. One interesting aspect of your question is that polycarbonate lenses are typically 1.59 index, yet Zenni has some sort of material they typically use with an index of 1.57.

Looking around, I did find this lens thickness calculator that you can try out. Your prescription seems to be in the medium range - mine is MUCH weaker, but many people have much stronger prescriptions. A stronger prescription will need a thicker lens (I'm not an eye doctor, but I'm pretty sure this is correct). The material of the lens determines how thin glasses can be in the center. A stronger material like polycarbonate can be cut thinner in the middle. The strength of the prescription combined with the refractive index (higher in high index lenses) determines how much thicker the lens needs to be at the edges. A larger lens will get even thicker at the edges.