My eye feels scratched

Getting the best value for your money when it comes to eyeglasses, sunglasses, eye exams, and contact lenses.

Postby Julian » Sat Oct 31, 2009 6:49 pm

I felt like I had something in my eye yesterday, but I couldn't see anything there when I looked in the mirror. I tried to scratch it out of my eye, tried rinsing with eye dropes, and tried washing it out with a wet towel. Nothing seemed to help and I figured maybe it would go away on its own. It's been almost 24 hours and it still feels like something is in my eye. I'm wondering if I scratched my eye. Is there something I can do to remove whatever it is in my eye?
Julian

Postby george » Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:07 am

First off, I'm not an eye doctor, but I can at least direct you to other information on the web.

Before going any further, it sounds to me like you need to seek medical attention. I wouldn't want any longer as you could do more damage by waiting, and when it comes to your vision, you shouldn't mess around.

According to the Mayo Clinic website, if you scratched your eye, it would be considered a corneal abrasion. Highlights from the linked information are:

Corneal abrasions are usually just superficial - a slight scratch on the surface of the eye. These can get infected and become a corneal ulcer.

It can feel like sand in your eye and it can be painful.

You should get medical help, but things you can do before seeing the doctor are:

1. Rinse your eye with clean water or saline solution if it is available. Rinsing your eye may wash out anything that is in your eye leading to the scratch.

2. Blink several times as this movement may remove any item that led to the scratch.

3. Pull your top eyelid over the bottom eyelid. The eyelashes on the bottom eyelid can brush any item that is maybe stuck to the inside of your top eyelid.